August 13th: Weekly Design Links

“one must not prostrate oneself before the minor impossibilities, otherwise the major impossibilities would never come into view.”―Franz Kafka, Letters to Felice

We’re in the last leg of Summer. Kids are going back to school and the days are getting shorter. I like the Fall, but I’ve been enjoying the warm Summer nights. All good things must come to an end they say. Let the links ease you through this transition.

Random

Forget the computer — here’s why you should write and design by hand • https://uxdesign.cc/forget-the-computer-heres-why-you-should-write-and-design-by-hand-19031089138f

The Art Of Warez • https://vimeo.com/341663153

Tech/Tools

Atomize React: A UI framework that helps developers collaborate with designers and build consistent user interfaces effortlessly • https://atomizecode.com

Web Design/UX/UI

UX: do less, but with feeling • https://uxdesign.cc/ux-do-less-but-with-feeling-e58e2c8b3c90

There’s Too Much Damn Content, and Slick UX Design Is Making it Worse • https://eyeondesign.aiga.org/theres-too-much-damn-content-and-slick-ux-design-is-making-it-worse

Superhuman’s Secret Onboarding UX • https://growth.design/case-studies/superhuman-user-onboarding/

Why You Shouldn’t Gray Out Disabled Buttons • https://uxmovement.com/buttons/why-you-shouldnt-gray-out-disabled-buttons/

Animation

Rafał Barnaś creates an “abstract world built out of paper” for animated film ArchiPaper • https://www.dezeen.com/2019/08/01/archipaper-surrealist-story-about-architecture-animated-film-paper/

Art

Coshocton Ray Trace Installation / Behin Ha • https://www.archdaily.com/922155/coshocton-ray-trace-installation-behin-ha

Antony Gormley installs iron figures among ancient ruins on the Greek island of Delos • https://www.dezeen.com/2019/08/06/sight-antony-gormley-delos-greece-sculptures/

Architecture

Knot-hole House / ICADA • https://www.archdaily.com/922088/knot-hole-house-icada

The Monka Apartments Feature Bathrooms in Colored Steel Cubes • https://design-milk.com/the-monka-apartments-feature-bathrooms-in-colored-steel-cubes

KDDK House / Karina Duque • https://www.archdaily.com/922323/kddk-house-karina-duque

UNStudio Designs a Museum of Spheres in South Korea • https://www.archdaily.com/922400/unstudio-designs-a-museum-of-spheres-in-south-korea

Industrial Design

Work in Use Is Redefining Fitness • https://design-milk.com/work-in-use-is-redefining-fitness

Rocky Brooks’ flat-pack rescue dog beds are affordable and recyclable • https://www.dezeen.com/2019/08/08/rocky-brooks-flat-pack-rescue-dog-bed-design/

Illustration/3D

Line Lovers — editorial illustration by Jonathan Calugi • https://www.behance.net/gallery/83653749/Line-Lovers-editorial-illustration-more-part-1

Voxel Commodore 64 • https://www.behance.net/gallery/83676833/Voxel-Commodore-64

Polka Folks by Mother Volcano • https://www.behance.net/gallery/83265149/Polka-Folks

Let’s Get Better Together by OC May • https://www.behance.net/gallery/79774145/Lets-Get-Better-Together

and we’re done

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store