August 22nd: Weekly Design Links

“To act is to be committed, and to be committed is to be in danger.”–James A. Baldwin

I’m seeing a ton of amazing stuff lately. It’s hard to keep up to be honest. As always, I’m trying to do my part to sort out the chaos, separate the junk from the gold. CreativeLinks.Club is now a weekly email, so if you like these links, click that link there and sign up today.

The link show must go on…

UX/UI/Web Design

Heuristic Analysis UX in the design process • https://blog.intellyo.com/research/heuristic-analysis-ux-in-the-design-process

UX & Psychology go hand in hand — How Gestalt theory appears in UX design? • https://blog.intellyo.com/content-marketing/ux-and-psychology-go-hand-in-hand-how-gestalt-theory-appears-in-ux-design

Stopwords in the user interface • https://uxplanet.org/stopwords-in-the-user-interface-ce5268d0530

6 Tips that Will Improve Your Typography on Your UI • http://www.steveschoger.com/2017/07/19/6-tips-that-will-improve-your-typography-on-your-ui

Graphic Design/Branding

New Logo and Identity for Boudicca Proxy Consultants by Planning Unit • http://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_and_identity_for_boudicca_proxy_consultants_by_planning_unit.php

A Funky Restaurant and Take Away Service that Encourages Creativity with Food • http://www.thedieline.com/blog/2017/7/14/a-funky-restaurant-and-take-away-service-that-encourages-creativity-with-food

New Logo and Identity for Carius by Content Design Lab • http://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_and_identity_for_carius_by_content_design_lab.php

Empty Gallery • https://www.behance.net/gallery/55254471/Empty-Gallery

Erik Kirtley • http://www.grainedit.com/2017/08/02/erik-kirtley/

Sketch Cahier • https://www.grafik.net/category/feature/sketch-cahier

Terhedebrügge is a Lesson in Multidisciplinary Design, and Sibling Harmony • https://eyeondesign.aiga.org/terhedebrugge-is-a-lesson-in-multidisciplinary-design-and-sibling-harmony

11 of the World’s Most Inspiring Design Residencies • https://www.artsy.net/article/artsy-editorial-11-worlds-inspiring-design-residencies

Product

Cerno: Designed and Made in California • http://design-milk.com/cerno-designed-made-california-video

Giacomo Moor’s Collection Vapore Explores Steam Bending Wood • http://design-milk.com/giacomo-moors-collection-vapore-explores-steam-bending-wood

Floating Cloud: An Electromagnetic Cloud That Hovers on Your Desktop by Richard Clarkson • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/08/floating-cloud-richard-clarkson

Architecture

Aperture-Style Retractable Roof at Atlanta’s Mercedes-Benz Stadium Closes for the First Time • http://www.archdaily.com/876888/aperture-style-retractable-roof-at-atlantas-mercedes-benz-stadium-closes-for-the-first-time

BIG’s Cactus Towers in Copenhagen Will Stand Next to an Urban IKEA • http://www.archdaily.com/877208/bigs-cactus-towers-in-copenhagen-will-stand-next-to-an-urban-ikea

A Modern Apartment in Kraków Organized by Black Frames • http://design-milk.com/a-modern-apartment-in-krakow-organized-by-black-frames

3D

McCann Milan • https://www.behance.net/gallery/55305243/McCann-Milan

Art/Photography

Chris Ware: Someone I’m Not • http://boingboing.net/2017/08/04/short-film-about-chris-ware.html

Elegant Dip Pen Illustrations Inside the Sketchbooks of Elena Limkina • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/08/elegant-dip-pen-illustrations-inside-the-sketchbooks-of-elena-limkina

This Photographer Converted a Box Trailer Into a Giant Mobile Camera • https://www.wired.com/2017/05/ian-kasnoff-mobile-lightbox-camera

Typography

600 years of typography in 23 cards • https://medium.com/@eugenesadko/600-years-of-typography-in-23-cards-7b3f033b947e

The Zanerian Manual • https://masgrimes.com/archive/zanerian-manual

This Just In: Linotype Master Drawings • https://letterformarchive.org/news/linotype-drawings

Work/Tools

OpenToonz • https://opentoonz.github.io/e/index.html

The FedEx Logo, Paul Rand, And Degas: What Made These Designers Fall In Love With Design • https://www.fastcodesign.com/90134923/the-fedex-logo-paul-rand-and-degas-what-made-these-designers-fall-in-love-with-design

Don’t Sleep on the Side Project • http://tinhouse.com/dont-sleep-side-project

Random

The Secret Economic Lives of Animals • https://www.bloomberg.com/features/2017-biological-markets/

How to Fight Through Intellectual Discomfort • http://99u.com/articles/53927/how-to-fight-through-intellectual-discomfort

This Super Fast Algorithm Edits Photographs Like a Professional — Before You Take Them • http://www.archdaily.com/877237/this-super-fast-algorithm-edits-photographs-like-a-professional-nil-before-you-take-them

Thanks for checking out this weeks links. Give a clap or follow and see you next week.

--

--

--

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

A new website for ATypI

Mapping Your Practice

template for mapping your practice with instructions cards, and an empty quadrant.

It is time to make your Facebook cover more usable. Here is how

In Which Everything Smells of Vinegar

6 things I hate about your design recruitment

Weekly Design Links — 11/16/21

The UX evolution of Zappi’s Data Collector

Why People Don’t Do Things: Part 3

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
John Freeborn

John Freeborn

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

More from Medium

Weekly Design Links — 04/12/22

Top 5 Prototyping Tools for UX Designers

UX/UI: The Art of Management

My 1-year Design Path