August 7th: Weekly Design Links

“Are you taking over
Or are you taking orders?
Are you going backwards
Or are you going forwards?”
–The Clash, White Riot” (1977):

This weeks links are Web/UX heavy along with a big dose of work stuff. That’s probably a reflection on where my head is at these days. I work as a UX designer by day, and I’m very interested in process, workflow and how the business of design gets done. I’ll get more graphic design and art in the mix next week, I promise.

Web Design/UX/UI

Exploring Responsive Type Scales • https://medium.com/sketch-app-sources/exploring-responsive-type-scales-cf1da541be54

Digital Psychology • https://digitalpsychology.io/

Nintendo Switch Does Multiple Accounts Right • https://m.signalvnoise.com/nintendo-switch-does-multiple-accounts-right-516c9e42b9dc

The Top 5 Behavioural Economics Principles for Designers • https://uxplanet.org/the-top-5-behavioural-economics-principles-for-designers-ea22a16a4020

There is no such thing as UX Design • https://medium.com/@james.mingardi.elliott/there-is-no-such-thing-as-ux-design-d2c912158498

Proactive UX Design: A Big Leap Requiring Baby Steps • https://medium.com/@jmspool/proactive-ux-design-a-big-leap-requiring-baby-steps-e131911a1609

Work/Business

7 design lessons from Silicon Valley’s most important failure • https://www.fastcompany.com/90208070/7-design-lessons-from-silicon-valleys-most-important-failure

How to Prioritize Work: 7 Practical Methods for When “Everything is Important” • https://blog.rescuetime.com/how-to-prioritize/

Undressing Your Compensation • https://www.kayandblack.com/undressing-your-compensation/

If Companies Had No Employees • https://medium.com/@the_economist/if-companies-had-no-employees-d0b62f5dd1bf

What I learned from 200 design interviews • https://medium.com/playgroundinc/what-i-learned-from-200-design-interviews-fc4d99c1c314

Random

The Bullshit Web • https://pxlnv.com/blog/bullshit-web/

Little Big City • https://pissang.github.io/little-big-city/

Graphic Design

Trieste Estate 2018 • https://www.behance.net/gallery/68530977/Trieste-Estate-2018

New Logo and Identity for Skip by Hoodzpah Design • https://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_and_identity_for_skip_by_hoodzpah_design.php

Product/Industrial Design

Aronson Woodworks Creates Unique Furniture That Highlights the Beauty of Wood Grain Patterns • https://design-milk.com/aronson-woodworks-creates-unique-furniture-highlight-beauty-wood-grain-patterns

UNIO — Seating by Markus Melcher • https://www.behance.net/gallery/68458153/UNIO-Seating

Architecture

MAD Revitalizes Abandoned Japanese Mountain Tunnel with Elemental Art Trail • https://www.archdaily.com/899678/mad-revitalizes-abandoned-japanese-mountain-tunnel-with-elemental-art-trail

August is here. Summer is fading. Claps are appreciated.

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store