August 8th: Weekly Design Links

“Progress is a nice word. But change is its motivator. And change has its enemies.” – Robert Kennedy

I’ve been doing these weekly design links posts for quite a while now (since May of 2016) and they’ve evolved a bit since then. In January I started doing a daily email version with 5 links a day called CreativeLinks.Club and that’s been an interesting ride also. As of last Friday, I’ve decided to change CreativeLinks.Club into a weekly email service instead of a daily. In essence it will mirror these weekly posts. If you prefer to consume these on Medium, then keep following and enjoy. If you want to get these via email, go to CreativeLinks.Club and sign up.

On to this week’s creative bounty…

Architecture

Swiss House XXII Preonzo • http://www.archdaily.com/876396/swiss-house-xxii-preonzo-davide-macullo-architects

Web Design

Despacito Websites • https://medium.com/@hrvojedominko/despacito-websites-99d4f6d59587

Divide and Conquer: Examples of Beautiful Split-Screen Layouts • https://www.invisionapp.com/blog/split-screen-layouts

Empty States? More like You-Have-No-Idea-How-Much-Work-Goes-Into-Those States, amirite?? • https://ux.shopify.com/empty-states-more-like-you-have-no-idea-how-much-work-goes-into-those-states-amirite-e0102f58b64e

UX/UI/Interaction

In Design, Empathy is Not Enough • https://medium.com/@odannyboy/in-design-empathy-is-not-enough-c315b1c1ecee

An Interaction Designer Books a Holiday • https://uxdesign.cc/an-interaction-designer-books-a-holiday-5803037d5024

Are Notifications A Dark Pattern? • http://trydesignlab.com/blog/are-notifications-a-dark-pattern-ux-ui/

Self Promoting Here! — The Sad State of Payment Buttons • https://uxplanet.org/the-sad-state-of-payment-buttons-4d5cef3b9578

Graphic Design

Getting it right: why infographics are not the same as data visualizations • https://blog.prototypr.io/getting-it-right-why-infographics-are-not-the-same-as-data-visualizations-a23da7de745e

Illustration

Bonet • https://www.behance.net/gallery/51566665/BONET

Montreal — Espace Pour La Vie cards • https://www.behance.net/gallery/54979335/Montreal-Espace-Pour-La-Vie-cards

Illustration Teardowns: Matisse Erwhere • https://medium.com/@roblevintennis/illustration-teardowns-matisse-erwhere-7aab7ace3eeb

Work/Tools

When to Solve Your Team’s Problems, and When to Let Them Sort It Out • https://hbr.org/2017/07/when-to-solve-your-teams-problems-and-when-to-let-them-sort-it-out

Figma 2.0: Now with Prototyping and Developer Handoff • https://blog.figma.com/figma-2-0-now-with-prototyping-and-developer-handoff-1b309a5d025c

When you want to do everything, do this. • https://artplusmarketing.com/when-you-want-to-do-everything-do-this-d70a161a6ce1

How to Beat the Imposter Syndrome Feeling • http://99u.com/articles/54774/how-to-beat-the-imposter-syndrome-feeling

Product

Geometric Magnetic Toys For Creative Play • http://design-milk.com/geometric-magnetic-toys-for-creative-play

Delicious Brand Identity and Packaging: Utopick Chocolate Bars • http://abduzeedo.com/delicious-brand-identity-and-packaging-utopick-chocolate-bars

Typography

Calcula • https://www.typotheque.com/articles/calcula

Imagine Making Your Own Font • https://medium.com/type-thursday/imagine-making-your-own-font-e9ef6c88c86

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store