December 12th: Weekly Design Links

“Things do not change; we change.” — Henry David Thoreau

This week’s links are all over the place. This is kind of how I like them best–wide ranging influences and skills, crafts and styles from far and wide. I hope something in here hits you and gives you the energy to make something new.

Learning/Code & Tools

JS Robot • https://lab.reaal.me/jsrobot/#

53: Paper & Paste — We all need space to create • https://medium.com/fiftythree-space-to-create/we-all-need-space-to-create-9a437739b5f3

Web Design/UX/UI

10 UX Design Predictions For 2018 • https://medium.com/thinking-design/10-ux-design-predictions-for-2018-54bebb8d9767

The Ultimate UX Guide to Color Design • https://medium.muz.li/the-ultimate-ux-guide-to-color-design-4d0a18a706ed

2017: The Year of the Blob • https://medium.com/@usonesinbetween/2017-the-year-of-the-blob-a3d899c9b071

Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Prototyping (But Were Afraid To Ask) • https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2017/12/prototyping-driven-process/

Architecture

M.A.DI. House Is The Best Looking Pre-Fab Home You’ll Ever See • https://theultralinx.com/2017/12/m-a-di-house-is-the-best-looking-pre-fab-home-youll-ever-see/

A Japanese Home Designed Around a Climbable Earthquake-Proof Bookshelf • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/12/a-japanese-home-designed-around-a-climbable-earthquake-proof-bookshelf

Pop-Up Structure for Herschel Supply / Linehouse • https://www.archdaily.com/883417/pop-up-structure-for-herschel-supply-linehouse

Illustration

My First Skateboard • https://www.myfirstskateboardthebook.com

Art/Sculpture

Meet Tatsuo Horiuchi, the 77-Year-Old Artist Who ‘Paints’ Japanese Landscapes With Excel • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/12/tatsuo-horiuchi-excel-artist

Tiffany Bozic: Spectrum • http://www.notcot.com/archives/2017/12/tiffany-bozic-spectrum.php

Interactive LED Sculpture Projects Visitors’ Faces 14-Feet-Tall in Columbus, OH • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/12/interactive-led-sculpture-projects-visitors-faces-14-feet-tall-in-columbus-oh

Film/Video

Irregulars: A Short Documentary Traces Cyrille Kabore’s Harrowing Journey as a Refugee Set Against a Mannequin Factory • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/12/irregulars-short-documentary

Transient: An Extraordinary Short Film That Captures Lightning at 1,000 Frames per Second • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/12/transient-lighting-film-dustin-farrell

Product/Industrial Design

The New, Improved Triangle Notebook by Tan Mavitan • https://design-milk.com/the-new-improved-triangle-notebook-by-tan-mavitan

Work/Design Thinking

When Architects Design Software • https://blog.prototypr.io/when-architects-design-software-df2faf509eb1

The best ‘design‘ books that aren’t explicitly about design • https://medium.com/google-design/the-best-design-books-that-arent-explicitly-about-design-74fc96ce115e

The Three Questions You Must Ask When Running a Design Sprint • https://sprintstories.com/the-three-questions-you-must-ask-when-running-a-design-sprint-c15f76778d6d

Typography

Flex, The Laser-Etched, Physical Type Experiment That Pops Off The Page • https://eyeondesign.aiga.org/superfried-celebrates-10-years-of-design-with-a-new-experimental-typeface-flex

Graphic Design/Packaging

Soda Press Co is a Cheerful Alternative To Big Soda Brands • http://www.thedieline.com/blog/2017/10/26/soda-press-co

Axel Røthe • https://www.behance.net/gallery/59548167/Axel-Roethe

3D/Animation

Oddly Satisfying: Animations by Andreas Wannerstedt • http://theinspirationgrid.com/oddly-satisfying-animations-by-andreas-wannerstedt/

…another week of links. Give a clap to show your appreciation.

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store