December 4th: Weekly Design Links

“I was never more hated than when I tried to be honest. Or when, even as just now I’ve tried to articulate exactly what I felt to be the truth. No one was satisfied” ― Ralph Ellison, Invisible Man

It’s December, about 20 days until the new year. I realize that I’ve been writing about this change of date a lot over the last few posts and months. It might seem like I have something in mind–like a plan. No, I’m not big on the arbitrary date change. I don’t do new year’s resolutions. I do make changes in my life. I try and do that all the time, not only in January.

Art

KAWS: Art Louder Than Words • https://www.juxtapoz.com/news/magazine/features/kaws-art-louder-than-words/

ATTENTION: Public Warning Signs by April Soetarman Engage the Emotions of Unsuspecting Pedestrians • https://www.thisiscolossal.com/2018/11/public-warning-signs-by-april-soetarman

Dreamlike Balloon Compositions by Charles Pétillon Form Hovering Clouds and Lines in Space • https://www.thisiscolossal.com/2018/11/dreamlike-balloon-compositions-by-charles-petillon

Architecture

Kozlowski + Cardia Design Floating Tree Branch Pavilion for Expo 2020 • https://www.archdaily.com/906669/kozlowski-plus-cardia-design-floating-tree-branch-pavilion-for-expo-2020

Longfu Life Experience Center / LUO studio • https://www.archdaily.com/906547/longfu-life-experience-center-luo-studio

Split House / hsu-rudolphy • https://www.archdaily.com/906660/split-house-hsu-rudolphy

Cercal House / Atelier Data • https://www.archdaily.com/906433/cercal-house-atelier-data

Random/Tech

The AI apocalypse is already here • https://m.signalvnoise.com/the-ai-apocalypse-is-already-here-3bd3267cc151

Best Inventions 2018 • http://time.com/collection/best-inventions-2018/

Amazon’s own ‘Machine Learning University’ now available to all developers • https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/machine-learning/amazons-own-machine-learning-university-now-available-to-all-developers/

Novameat develops 3D-printed vegan steak from plant-based proteins • https://www.dezeen.com/2018/11/30/novameat-3d-printed-meat-free-steak/

Docubyte: A Visual History of Computing • https://www.docubyte.com/works/guide-to-computing

Work

What Creatives Need to Know About Working with a Recruiter • https://99u.adobe.com/articles/60142/what-creatives-need-to-know-about-working-with-a-recruiter

Graphic Design/Branding/Packagin

REASON BEHIND FORMS: Transformation by NOSIGNER • https://www.behance.net/gallery/71665587/REASON-BEHIND-FORMS-Transformation

New Logo and Packaging for Heyday by Collins • https://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_and_packaging_for_heyday_by_collins.php

New Logo and Identity for SMK by Andstudio • https://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_and_identity_for_smk_by_andstudio.php

Olipop • https://www.behance.net/gallery/69487613/Olipop

Rushmore Baking Branding by Cristie Stevens • https://www.behance.net/gallery/72771429/Rushmore-Baking-Branding

Illustration

An Anthology Vol.2 by Yukai Du • https://www.behance.net/gallery/72797939/An-Anthology-Vol2

The Sneaker Dot-to-Dot Book by James Oconnell • http://theinspirationgrid.com/sneaker-dot-to-dot-book-by-james-oconnell/

Web Design/UX/UI

Redesigning the Office App Icons to Embrace a New World of Work • https://medium.com/microsoft-design/redesigning-the-office-app-icons-to-embrace-a-new-world-of-work-91d72608ee8f

Happy December–Clapping is a gift

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store