February 13th: Weekly Design Links

“Listen, not a year goes by, not a year, that I don’t hear about some escalator accident involving some bastard kid which could have easily been avoided had some parent — I don’t care which one — but some parent conditioned him to fear and respect that escalator.” Brodie, Mall Rats

Sometimes it’s the narrowest of coincidences that is the difference between wildly different outcomes. We don’t know which levers will ultimately trigger one result over the next–despite our constant anxiety and attempts at control of any given situation. We labor over most choices. Which toothpaste should I get? What brand of sneakers makes me look the coolest? What should should I do with my life? It all gets to be a little too much at times and I’m really happy that some days I have simple tasks to get me from the AM to the PM and back again. Today’s task: deliver to the interwebs a nice batch of design links for you all to enjoy.

Graphic Design/Identity

Design Xcel: Editorial Design by Fundamental • http://theinspirationgrid.com/design-xcel-editorial-design-by-fundamental/

Thonik on the Netherlands Government Identity That Never Was • https://eyeondesign.aiga.org/rejected-designs-thonik-on-the-netherlands-government-identity-that-never-saw-the-light-of-day

Simple and Elegant Brand Identity for Betterment • http://abduzeedo.com/simple-and-elegant-brand-identity-betterment

Lufthansa introduced a new logo, identity, and livery designed in-house in collaboration with Munich-based Martin et Karczinski • https://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_identity_and_livery_for_lufthansa_done_in_house.php

Drawing From The Past : A Deeper Look at PyeongChang’s Olympic Pictograms • https://medium.com/@joshrose/drawing-from-the-past-5a8fe3029a58

Web Design/UX/UI

UXPin introducing Adele: The repository of publicly available design systems and pattern libraries • https://www.uxpin.com/studio/blog/introducing-adele%E2%80%8A-%E2%80%8Athe-largest-open-source-repository-design-systems/

How to gain widespread adoption of your design system • https://medium.com/hubspot-product/how-to-gain-widespread-adoption-of-your-design-system-29d1b142b158

Ritual is a creative digital agency based in Gothenburg, Sweden • https://madebyritual.com

Design Language System • https://medium.freecodecamp.org/design-language-system-why-your-team-needs-one-and-how-to-built-it-d996ba8c3889

Architecture/Interior

A 1950s Micro Apartment Is Renovated for Modern Times • https://design-milk.com/a-1950s-micro-apartment-is-renovated-for-modern-times

Asif Khan Unveils ‘Darkest Building on Earth’ For Winter Olympics Pavilion • https://www.archdaily.com/888607/asif-khan-unveils-darkest-building-on-earth-for-winter-olympics-pavilion

Terrace SC • https://www.archdaily.com/888488/terrace-sc-taab

MVRDV Reveals Design For Dawn Bridge, A 80m-Long Dual Use Crossing in Shanghai • https://www.archdaily.com/888743/mvrdv-reveals-design-for-dawn-bridge-a-80m-long-dual-use-crossing-in-shanghai

Work/Design Thinking

“I don’t know“ • https://medium.com/mule-design/i-dont-know-15a6aca3bee2

Typography

Faune, A typeface family designed by Alice Savoie • http://www.cnap.graphismeenfrance.fr/faune/

Illustration/Animation

The Eye on Design Guide to the Intimate, Small-Batch, DIY World of Illustrated T-Shirts • https://eyeondesign.aiga.org/the-best-places-to-find-illustrated-t-shirts

Triem Healthcare Data • https://www.behance.net/gallery/60616133/TRIEM-HEALTHCARE

Simple and Elegant Motion Design for CNN Parallels • http://abduzeedo.com/simple-and-elegant-motion-design-cnn-parallels

Packaging

Check Out this Typographically Funky Almond Milk Packaging • http://www.thedieline.com/blog/2018/1/26/amilk

This Puff Pastry Packaging Has Beautiful Flat Graphic Illustrations • http://www.thedieline.com/blog/2018/1/26/a-piece-of-lovely-cake

Dark Humor

Bloomberg: American Mall • https://www.bloomberg.com/features/american-mall-game/

and that’s this week’s bounty–clap for me please…

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer