July 23rd: Weekly Design Links

“And the more technically developed a nation or race is, the more cruel, ruthless, predatory, and commercialized its systems tend to become … all because we continue to think like animals and have not learned how to think consistently like human beings…” ― A.E. van Vogt, The World of Null-A

Pushing through the chaos and focusing on the good. Art, design, trying to do good work and not be a jackass–that’s what I’m trying to do. Another batch of links from people doing that exactly. Enjoy.

Work

What is studio culture? • https://www.bbc.co.uk/gel/articles/what-is-studio-culture

Web Design/UX/UI

Shortcuts to superpowers: What an emerging design pattern tells us about disruption • https://www.intercom.com/blog/design-pattern-new-disruption

Four steps every motion graphics project should follow (before starting animation) • https://milanote.com/guide/motion-graphics-pre-production

UX Cake is a podcast for user experience professionals • https://www.uxcake.co/

Content in, for, and of Design Systems • https://medium.com/indeed-design/content-in-for-and-of-design-systems-80f565d77902

Breaking Down the UX of Switching Accounts in Web Apps • https://medium.com/ux-power-tools/breaking-down-the-ux-of-switching-accounts-in-web-apps-501813a5908b

Crafting the AVDC Simulation Driving Experience — Interaction Design • https://abduzeedo.com/crafting-avdc-simulation-driving-experience-interaction-design

Random

Before Envelopes, People Protected Messages With Letterlocking • https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/what-did-people-do-before-envelopes-letterlocking

Spotify, YouTube, and others get reimagined as retro anime tech • https://www.theverge.com/tldr/2019/7/14/20690451/spotify-youtube-facebook-artist-sheng-lam-retro-anime-tech-illustrations-concepts

Graphic Design/Branding

Geoff McFetridge x Warby Parker • https://www.warbyparker.com/geoff-mcfetridge

Making Handcrafted Modern Ceramics: A very small , one woman pottery studio in Burlington Ontario • https://ceramicsense.com

The Tetris Sofa, Inspired by the Iconic 1980s Game • https://design-milk.com/the-tetris-sofa-inspired-by-the-iconic-1980s-game

Architecture

E+E House / Ene+Ene Arhitectura • https://www.archdaily.com/921479/e-plus-e-house-ene-plus-ene-arhitectura

Lolly-Laputan: A Fairyland Kid-Friendly Cafe That Parents Will Love Too • https://design-milk.com/lolly-laputan-a-fairyland-kid-friendly-cafe-that-parents-will-love-too

The Park House / Arnau estudi d’arquitectura • https://www.archdaily.com/921505/the-park-house-arnau-estudi-darquitectura

Sakaushi House / Taku Sakaushi (O.F.D.A.) • https://www.archdaily.com/921022/sakaushi-house-taku-sakaushi-ofda

Art

Thousands of Miniature Vases in a Rainbow of Glazes by Ceramic Artist Yuta Segawa • https://www.thisiscolossal.com/2019/07/yuta-segawa

Mesmerizing Light Effects and Motion Design for R.P.M • https://abduzeedo.com/mesmerizing-light-effects-and-motion-design-rpm

The 2019 Audubon Photography Awards: Winners • https://www.audubon.org/magazine/summer-2019/the-2019-audubon-photography-awards-winners

the end of the line…

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer