June 11th: Weekly Design Links

“I never lose. Either I win or I learn.” ― Nelson Mandela

I just read ‘How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens’ by Benedict Carey. There was a lot that’s been sticking with me over the week since I finished this, but there is one nugget in particular that I keep coming back to.

“Using memory changes memory — and for the better. Forgetting enables and deepens learning, by filtering out distracting information and by allowing some breakdown that, after reuse, drives retrieval and storage strength higher than they were originally.”

This idea, that forgetting is part of learning–that is not failure to learn, but part of the memory making process is analogous with many other kinds of habit building and improvement techniques. I’ve just never seen it put so clearly. We are chastised from an early age not to forget key facts and figures, to always remember important details, dates and concepts. It’s an endless cycle of mis-using how our brains work best. We are not built to be mechanical hard drives of data regurgitation. Our minds are analytical and we are much better suited to making connections between concepts or recognizing complex patterns.

Don’t beat yourself up next time you forget something, remember that you just rebuilt that mental connection and you’ll be smarter next time.

On to the links.

Art

Peter Harris • https://www.peterharris.ca

Prismatic Installation / Hou de Sousa • https://www.archdaily.com/918416/prismatic-installation-hou-de-sousa

Thorny South African Seeds Get an Up Close Examination in Macro Photographs by Dillon Marsh • https://www.thisiscolossal.com/2019/06/hitchhikers-dillon-marsh

Architecture

Pillars of Dreams Pavilion / MARC FORNES / THEVERYMANY • https://www.archdaily.com/918398/pillars-of-dreams-pavilion-marc-fornes-theverymany

Jiangsu Beisha Kindergarten / Crossboundaries • https://www.archdaily.com/918200/jiangsu-beisha-kindergarten-crossboundaries

Muxin Office / Muxin Studio • https://www.archdaily.com/918117/muxin-office-muxin-studio

Hulunbuir Hailar Airport / United Design U10 Atelier • https://www.archdaily.com/918443/hulunbuir-hailar-airport-united-design-u10-atelier

Oppenheim Completes Vernacular Golf Academy in Jordan • https://www.archdaily.com/918738/oppenheim-completes-vernacular-golf-academy-in-jordan

Illustration

A year long journey: Landscape Illustrations by Ryo Takemasa • https://theinspirationgrid.com/a-year-long-journey-landscape-illustrations-by-ryo-takemasa/

Spoke Art Gallery and Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Present Timeless • https://design-milk.com/spoke-art-gallery-and-frank-lloyd-wright-foundation-present-timeless

Random

40 years of console wars, spellbindingly charted for your viewing pleasure • https://thenextweb.com/plugged/2019/04/09/40-years-console-wars-nintendo-playstation-xbox/

Calendar Ruler Set • https://www.presentandcorrect.com/products/calendar-stencil-set

Web Design/UX/UI

Dropdown alternatives for better (mobile) forms • https://medium.com/@kollinz/dropdown-alternatives-for-better-mobile-forms-53e40d641b53

Colors in UI Design — Theory, Psychology & Practice • https://medium.com/iconscout/colors-in-ui-design-theory-psychology-practice-f6d6a5e6e04d

Dungeons & Dragons & Design Thinking • https://uxdesign.cc/dungeons-dragons-design-thinking-688a0b7cca3f

Leveling Framework: a UI framework for three-dimensional space • https://uxdesign.cc/leveling-framework-72f9296e6920

Graphic Design/Branding

2019 Logo Trend Report • https://www.logolounge.com/articles/2019-logo-trend-report

Women’s March by Blosson Liu • https://www.behance.net/gallery/65603605/WOMENS-MARCH

TSP737 Espresso Stand • https://www.behance.net/gallery/81266539/TSP737-Espresso-Stand

Motion

Free to Roam animation by Gianluca Maruotti (watch the video!) • https://www.behance.net/gallery/81342721/Free-to-Roam

seriously, watch the video for this last link

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store