June 30th: Weekly Design Links

“The paradox of education is precisely this — that as one begins to become conscious one begins to examine the society in which he is being educated.”–James Baldwin

I changed up the format of this weekly post last week and the results were interesting. I got more page views but the percentage of people who read the whole post was down dramatically. I’m going to run with it for now, but if anyone hates or loves the new format, let me know. As always, if you love these links check out CreativeLinks.Club and sign up for the daily email list.

Art

Design Thinking/Work

UX

Product

Graphic Design/Typography

Architecture

Illustration

Other Stuff

Link Summary

Art
Os Gemeos Take Their Scandinavian Tour to Helsinki • https://www.juxtapoz.com/news/street-art/os-gemeos-takes-their-scandinavian-tour-to-helsinki/

IRL, Bitcoin Bills Might Look Something Like This • https://www.invisionapp.com/blog/bitcoin

New Satisfying Porcelain Faceting Videos by Abe Haruya • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/06/satisfying-porcelain-faceting-videos-by-abe-haruya

Design Thinking/Work
Agile is Reducing the Value of Your Design Team • https://medium.com/amplify-design/agile-is-reducing-the-value-of-your-design-team-68cf3b2794f3

What I Wish I Knew at Every Age • http://99u.com/articles/55667/what-i-wish-i-knew-at-every-age

UX
Z-Shaped Pattern For Reading Web Content • https://uxplanet.org/z-shaped-pattern-for-reading-web-content-ce1135f92f1c

How To Give Helpful Product Design Feedback • https://medium.mikeindustries.com/how-to-give-helpful-product-design-feedback-1e4c053b6da

How to create a UX writing portfolio • https://medium.com/dropbox-design/how-to-create-a-ux-writing-portfolio-3c65fa08f2aa

Multi input field messaging app concept • https://medium.com/@dawdus/multi-input-field-messaging-app-concept-911096778de3

Designing The Perfect Accordion • https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2017/06/designing-perfect-accordion-checklist/

A Guide to Becoming a UX Designer at Age 40 • https://www.invisionapp.com/blog/become-ux-designer

Product
Tel Aviv-Based Designer Chen Bikovski Creates Stunning Aluminum Cactus Lamp • http://designyoutrust.com/2017/06/tel-aviv-based-designer-chen-bikovski-creates-stunning-aluminum-cactus-lamp/

Makerball: A Simple, DIY Pinball Machine Kit • http://design-milk.com/makerball-a-simple-diy-pinball-machine-kit

Cornell University’s Intuitive Push/Pull Furniture Series Blends Asian Sensibility with New York Flavor • http://www.archdaily.com/873913/cornell-university-unveils-push-pull-furniture-series

TAC.TILES Adds a Touch of the Physical to 3D Software • http://design-milk.com/tactiles-3d-software-controls

Graphic Design/Typography
Type with Pride: A typeface in honor of the creator of the iconic Rainbow Flag • https://medium.com/type-thursday/type-with-pride-a-typeface-in-honor-of-the-creator-of-the-iconic-rainbow-flag-8e59f7441364

Make Those Connections • http://www.alphabettes.org/make-those-connections

Dan Rhatigan on Variable Fonts and the Future of Typography • https://www.subtraction.com/2017/06/08/dan-rhatigan-on-variable-fonts-and-the-future-of-typography/

Color Theory: Brief Guide For Designers • https://uxplanet.org/color-theory-brief-guide-for-designers-76e11c57eaa

Monetary Design Mystery: The Nebulous Origins of America’s Iconic Dollar Sign • http://99percentinvisible.org/article/monetary-design-mystery-nebulous-origins-americas-iconic-dollar-sign/

Architecture
New Renderings of Penn Station’s $1.6 Billion Renovation Released as Project Gets Greenlight • http://www.archdaily.com/873993/new-renderings-of-penn-stations-1-dollars-6-cents-billion-renovation-released-as-project-gets-greenlight

A Modern Home in the Prenzlauer Berg District of Berlin • http://design-milk.com/a-modern-home-in-the-prenzlauer-berg-district-of-berlin

Illustration
Illustration & Paper Lettering with People Too • http://abduzeedo.com/illustration-paper-lettering-people-too

The Futuristic Aesthetic of Borja Bonaque • https://illustrationage.com/2017/06/20/the-futuristic-aesthetic-of-borja-bonaque/

Other Stuff
How do you draw a circle? We analyzed 100,000 drawings to show how culture shapes our instincts • https://qz.com/994486/the-way-you-draw-circles-says-a-lot-about-you/

Monument Valley 2 Delves Deeper Into the Architecture of the Imagination • http://design-milk.com/monument-valley-2-architecture

A Technicolor Basketball Court Emerges in Paris • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/06/a-technicolor-basketball-court-emerges-in-paris

--

--

--

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

What Are Texture Maps And Why Do They Matter For 3D Fashion?

The difference between insights and findings, and why it matters

Renewing the concept of architecture #2

Companionship 2.0

Know Your Users!

Spotify Concept: Finding Personalized Music

Research Paper Summary 1

What to do with Fundamental Assumptions?

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
John Freeborn

John Freeborn

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

More from Medium

Weekly Design Links — 03/01/22

An Elixir To Escaping The Visual Rut: 5 Grand Tips To Create An Effective Mood Board For UI UX…

a mood board showing sticky notes for elements

Cryptocurrencies will fail without UX design.

Mobile in hand with bitcoins in the air.

Website Design for Museums With Eric Holter