March 20th: Weekly Design Links

“The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge.” — Stephen Hawking

Each week seems to be getting shorter lately. We all know that time is relative thanks to Einstein. But, it doesn’t really help me plan my week. I’ve read all the productivity stuff and I’ve even taken a class or two to help learn to prioritize. These things have helped… some. Somehow, we get the important things done–and we all have a skill of pushing the other stuff to the side, consciously or unconsciously.

The links are a priority, so let’s get to it.

Graphic Design/Identity

Stylish Brand Identity for Tattwa • http://abduzeedo.com/stylish-brand-identity-tattwa

No Logo Logo! Brand Identity for Something • http://abduzeedo.com/no-logo-logo-brand-identity-something

Architecture

The Intricate, Undulating Brickwork at Eladio Dieste’s Cristo Obrero Church in Uruguay • https://www.archdaily.com/890362/the-intricate-undulating-brickwork-at-eladio-diestes-cristo-obrero-church-in-uruguay

Artificial island creates floating events space in Copenhagen harbour • https://www.dezeen.com/2018/03/13/copenhagen-islands-marshall-blecher-magnus-maarbjerg-fokstrot-floating-artificial-island-harbour/

Philippe Starck designs “phantasmagoric” hotel topped with a house for Metz • https://www.dezeen.com/2018/03/16/philippe-starck-phantasmagoric-hotel-metz-france/

Work

Really Bad Design Exercises • https://matthewstrom.com/writing/design-exercises.html

The “Basecamp MBA” Reading List • https://m.signalvnoise.com/the-basecamp-mba-reading-list-5d1e35f10052

Ruthless Prioritization : All high functioning teams must prioritize. Not once a month, not once a week — but rigorously, and ruthlessly • https://blackboxofpm.com/ruthless-prioritization-e4256e3520a9

The spectrum of design roles in 2018 • https://uxdesign.cc/the-spectrum-of-digital-design-roles-in-2018-3286390a9966

Web Design/UX/UI

Creating User-friendly forms • https://blog.prototypr.io/creating-user-friendly-forms-46e3f7f4eef2

10 essential TED talks for UX designers • https://www.creativebloq.com/inspiration/10-essential-ted-talks-for-ux-designers

We have lost track of what UX actually means • https://medium.designit.com/we-have-lost-track-of-what-ux-actually-means-85d1a339906

Blade Runner 2049’s beautiful Screen Graphics and UI Design • http://abduzeedo.com/blade-runner-2049s-beautiful-screen-graphics-and-ui-design

Design Thinking

Design in Tech Report 2018 • https://designintech.report

Immersive Design: The Next 10 Years of Interfaces • https://uxdesign.cc/immersive-design-the-next-10-years-of-interfaces-16122cb6eae6

Packaging

Grammy-Winning Voyager Golden Record Goes From Deep Space to Your Turntable • http://www.thedieline.com/blog/2018/3/7/grammy-winning-voyager-golden-record-goes-from-deep-space-to-your-turntable

Advertsing/Marketing

Nike Shoppers Can Now Test-Run Sneakers on a Treadmill Hooked Up to a Video Game • http://www.adweek.com/creativity/nike-shoppers-can-now-test-run-sneakers-on-a-treadmill-hooked-up-to-a-video-game/

72 Actors Walk Through One Woman’s Life in This Insanely Coordinated Ad • http://www.adweek.com/creativity/72-actors-walk-through-one-womans-life-in-this-insanely-coordinated-ad/

3D

Slime by Jonathan Knowles • https://www.behance.net/gallery/61784889/Slime

An Ode to Home by Jake Wegesin • https://www.behance.net/gallery/61856833/An-Ode-to-Home

Art

A Full-Scale Demolished Car Constructed From Silk, Aluminum Mesh, and Tulle by Jannick Deslauriers • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2018/03/full-scale-demolished-car-by-jannick-deslauriers

that’s it for the week — clap for me please

--

--

--

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

100 Days of UX — Day oo1

a cozy and safe home that pays attention to healthy body and spirit: project by sergey makhno…

Loom & Leaf VS Casper — A Mattress Comparison

Dead Plants & Watering Woes: Personalizing the Online Plant-Shopping Experience

Case study: The Domino’s pizza ordering user journey

World Record

Value of Communication in City Outreach

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
John Freeborn

John Freeborn

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

More from Medium

Weekly Design Links — 02/22/22

An Elixir To Escaping The Visual Rut: 5 Grand Tips To Create An Effective Mood Board For UI UX…

a mood board showing sticky notes for elements

FWA OF THE DAY — March 17: Jantana Hennard — Portfolio

Website Design for Museums With Eric Holter