May 1st: Weekly Design Links

“If you want to keep a secret, you must also hide it from yourself.” ― George Orwell, 1984

There’s something about repetition that breeds comfort. It’s familiar, without being being obtrusive. This will be the eighteenth weekly design links post of the year. I’ve lost track of the totals now and I don’t have the energy to check. I’m tired and once again I have to remind myself that I have to start these earlier, to stop waiting until the night before to assemble the pieces into something. Maybe it’s a procedural adjustment, a refinement or more efficiency. It probably just comes down to discipline… so it goes.

Product/Industrial Design

Milan Design Week 2018: Top Picks from Salone del Mobile • https://design-milk.com/milan-design-week-2018-top-picks-salone-del-mobile

Enjoy Your Next Third Wave, Pour-Over Coffee with Dripkit • https://design-milk.com/enjoy-next-third-wave-pour-coffee-dripkit

Terp Upholstered Tables and Poufs Inspired by Dutch Mounds • https://design-milk.com/terp-upholstered-tables-and-poufs-inspired-by-dutch-mounds

Christophe Machet creates chairs from sewage pipes • https://www.dezeen.com/2018/04/27/christophe-machet-pipeline-chairs-milan-design-week/

Web Design/UX/UI

The Hidden Trap in Design Systems • https://uxplanet.org/the-hidden-trap-in-design-systems-4540424f8c1

Users Don’t Hate Change. They Hate Our Design Choices • https://medium.com/@jmspool/users-dont-hate-change-they-hate-our-design-choices-86151866eff4

Typography

Typographics 2017: Handwriting–Our Personal Typography with Agnieszka Gasparska • https://youtu.be/LyRnzSzVzOA

Graphic Design/Identity/Packaging

May I have your attention, please? • https://medium.com/envoy-design/may-i-have-your-attention-please-4acd9151aff1

How to Approach the Creative Works of Reprehensible People • https://medium.com/@cmmhartmann/what-to-do-with-good-art-from-reprehensible-people-b547c8f7666a

another week in the books, clap for me if you like these

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer