May 21st: Weekly Design Links

“I bought a doughnut and they gave me a receipt for the doughnut; I don’t need a receipt for the doughnut. I’ll just give you the money, and you give me the doughnut, end of transaction. We don’t need to bring ink and paper into this.

I just can’t imagine a scenario where I would have to prove that I bought a doughnut. Some skeptical friend: “Don’t even act like I didn’t get that doughnut! I got the documentation right here…oh, wait it’s at home…in the file…under ‘D’, for doughnut.” ― Mitch Hedberg

I eat my share of donuts. Ok, maybe I eat a bit more than my share–I hope that’s ok with you all. Fried dough in any incarnation is a treat and I’m not shy about jumping in: glazed, holes, twists, you name it. What does this have to do with design, links or creativity? Not much, just confessing my preferences, nothing more. On second thought, my taste in donuts is on par with my creative choices here–I pick from a variety of medium and aesthetic styles. There, it makes sense now. On to the links.

Web Design/UX/UI

Making Inclusive Design the Norm • https://theblog.adobe.com/making-inclusive-design-the-norm/

Why I Don’t Believe in Empathic Design • https://theblog.adobe.com/why-i-dont-believe-in-empathic-design-don-norman/

Honestly, UX recruitment processes are broken • https://uxdesign.cc/honestly-ux-recruitment-processes-are-broken-427437254973

Notifications Are Broken and Technology Companies Should Fix Them • https://onezero.medium.com/notifications-are-broken-technology-companies-should-fix-them-b5f2a2ba9142

Undivided Rebranding & UI/UX for Useberry • https://abduzeedo.com/undivided-rebranding-uiux-useberry

Design Thinking

Thanos: Super-Villain and Terrible Designer • https://www.subtraction.com/2019/05/06/thanos-terrible-designer/?ref=uxdesignweekly

The Best Ideas from the 11th Annual 99U Conference, Part I • https://99u.adobe.com/articles/63459/the-best-ideas-from-the-11th-annual-99u-conference-part-i

Graphic Design/Packaging

Japanese packaging design: the play of accents, traditions and extremes • https://thedesignest.net/japanese-packaging-design-the-play-of-accents-traditions-and-extremes/

H+J Branding • https://spystudio.co.uk/projects/hj/

Mr.Marcel — Skills & Tools by Tata&Friends Studio • https://www.behance.net/gallery/80395551/MrMarcel-Skills-Tools

Coca Cola spirit mixers by Dragon Rouge • https://retaildesignblog.net/2019/05/21/coca-cola-spirit-mixers-by-dragon-rouge/

Architecture

Sare House and Caracali House / LSD Architects • https://www.archdaily.com/917086/sare-house-and-caracali-house-lsd-architects

A Spatial Quartet on Future Dwellings / ARCHSTUDIO + DESIGN APARTMENT + SODA Architects + B.L.U.E. Architecture Studio • https://www.archdaily.com/917101/a-spatial-quartet-on-future-dwellings-archstudio-plus-design-apartment-plus-soda-architects-plus-blue-architecture-studio

3D

Curvatures (May 2019) by Omar. Aqil • https://www.behance.net/gallery/80268005/Curvatures-(May-2019)

Tech

Blot: Blot is a blogging platform with no interface. Blot turns a folder into a blog. • https://blot.im

the sweet, sweet end

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer