November 14th: Weekly Design Links

“When I put a bicycle wheel on a stool, the fork down, there was no idea of a ‘ready-made’ or anything else. It was just a distraction. I didn’t have any special reason to do it, or any intention of showing it or describing anything.” – Marcel Duchamp

Normally, I’m posting other people’s projects. This week is a little different–I’ve got something of my own to share. Introducing 8-Bit ABCs, my way-too-long in the works book which is exactly what you think it is. The digital version is free (on Apple iTunes, Kindle, ePub or PDF) but if you love the project then you can pre-order a physical copy of the book.

On to your regularly scheduled links…

Web Design/UX/UI

Mixed Reality User Flows: A New Kind of Template • https://blog.prototypr.io/mixed-reality-user-flows-a-new-kind-of-template-27d59991de4a

Rebuilding slack.com • https://slack.engineering/rebuilding-slack-com-b124c405c193

Blackout • http://blackout-sketch.com

UX Mapping Methods Compared: A Cheat Sheet • https://www.nngroup.com/articles/ux-mapping-cheat-sheet/

What Tesla’s Model 3 UI Reveals About Its Vision for the Future • https://blog.figma.com/what-teslas-model-3-ui-reveals-about-its-vision-for-the-future-eb01a75ae979

Architecture

Tianjin Binhai Library / MVRDV + Tianjin Urban Planning and Design Institute • https://www.archdaily.com/882819/tianjin-binhai-library-mvrdv-plus-tianjin-urban-planning-and-design-institute

House in Ourém by Filipe Saraiva Arquitectos • http://design-milk.com/house-in-ourem-by-filipe-saraiva-arquitectos

Doctor Manzana’s Second Store / Masquespacio • https://www.archdaily.com/882953/doctor-manzanas-second-store-masquespacio

Graphic Design/Identity & Branding

New Logo and Identity for Canada Snowboard by Hulse & Durrell • https://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_and_identity_for_snowboard_canada_by_hulse_durrell.php

Wayfinding system for Art-zavod Platforma • https://www.behance.net/gallery/57746857/Wayfinding-system-for-Art-zavod-Platforma

Chiii Design • http://www.grainedit.com/2017/11/08/chiii-design/

Illustration

The Medify Illustrations • https://www.behance.net/gallery/58454847/The-Medify-Illustrations

Maxibon • Design collection • https://www.behance.net/gallery/58532573/Maxibon-Design-collection

Photography

Fascinating Cave Photography • http://abduzeedo.com/fascinating-cave-photography?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Aerial Views — Versilia• https://www.behance.net/gallery/58576037/Versilia

Typography

Tobias Frere-Jones’ Type Specimens • https://www.creativereview.co.uk/tobias-frere-jones-type-specimens/

IBM Plex • https://ibm.github.io/type/

Product/Industrial Design

Nienke Helder designs therapy tools for women recovering from sexual trauma • https://www.dezeen.com/2017/11/04/sexual-healing-tools-provide-therapy-women-suffering-sexual-trauma-design-dutch-design-week/

Walkman History 101 • http://pocketcalculatorshow.com/walkman/

Art/Sculpture

New Paper & Textile Wildlife Sculptures by Kate Kato • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/11/new-paper-textiles-wildlife-sculptures-by-kate-kato

Advertising

Apple releases new identity for Apple Music • https://www.creativereview.co.uk/apple-releases-new-identity-apple-music/

Thanks for checking this out, give a clap if it made you smile.

--

--

--

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

Minimalism: When less is more! | Les Petites Ambitieuses

Interview with Zach Burmeister, Creator of DivyMe iPhone App

Mobile app store page visual optimization

Once upon a time (in the late 1900s), I wanted to be a pro illustrator.

Best Free Fonts, Part 2

structured ideation and refinement

How we built a user research culture slow and steady

Research Methods: Cultural Probes

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
John Freeborn

John Freeborn

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

More from Medium

Weekly Design Links — 04/05/22

The Elements of a Style Guide

Top 5 Prototyping Tools for UX Designers

First-hand experience: how to design, prototype and animate, while being reluctant to code