November 21st: Weekly Design Links

“No man, for any considerable period, can wear one face to himself and another to the multitude, without finally getting bewildered as to which may be the true.” ― Nathaniel Hawthorne, The Scarlet Letter

T is for Tuesday? No, T is for Tank, from Atari’s Combat

Last week I announced my book, 8-Bit ABCs. It is exactly what you think it is. The digital version is free (on Apple iTunes, Kindle, ePub or PDF) but if you love the project, you can pre-order a physical copy of the book. Only 10 more days before the pre-order is over.

Happy Thanksgiving. A short work week is a good thing after a long, hectic year. I hope you all embrace the time off. I will try.

Time for the links, that’s why we are here

Art/Sculpture/Installation

Liquid Gold Appears to Flow, Drip, and Drain Through Galleries by Vanderlei Lopes • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/11/liquid-brass-appears-to-flow-drip-and-drain-through-galleries-by-vanderlei-lopes

Work & Life

Building the Case for Diversity: Key Takeaways from New Adobe Research Report • https://blogs.adobe.com

Trigger Warning: Breakfast • https://medium.com/the-nib/trigger-warning-breakfast-c6cdeec070e6

How to stay sane as a designer • https://blog.prototypr.io/how-to-stay-sane-as-a-designer-5163aad78046

Web Design/UX/UI

The User Experience of Blockchain • https://www.invisionapp.com/blog/user-experience-blockchain

Gestalt Theory for UX Design: Principle of Proximity • https://uxplanet.org/gestalt-theory-for-ux-design-principle-of-proximity-e56b136d52d1

The anatomy of a CTA button in 2017 • https://medium.com/@aureliojota/the-anatomy-of-a-cta-button-in-2017-voice-tone-style-and-component-best-practices-1861c4d2167e

Architecture

BLACK BOX II / Natalie Dionne Architecture • https://www.archdaily.com/883445/black-box-ii-natalie-dionne-architecture

Huangshan Mountain Village / MAD Architects • https://www.archdaily.com/883615/huangshan-mountain-village-mad-architects

AOR Present Proposals for a Church Which Doubles as a Pedestrian Bridge, Spanning a Finnish River • https://www.archdaily.com/883574/aor-present-proposals-for-a-church-which-doubles-as-a-pedestrian-bridge-spanning-a-finnish-river

Film

This Is How The Practical Miniatures For Blade Runner 2049 Were Created • https://designyoutrust.com/2017/11/this-is-how-the-practical-miniatures-for-blade-runner-2049-were-created/

Matereality: A Mesmerizing Short Film of Macro Magnetism Captured by Roman De Giuli • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/11/matereality-magnetic-short-film

Product/Industrial Design

Form Us With Love uses recycled wood and plastic to create sustainable IKEA chair • https://www.dezeen.com/2017/11/13/ikea-form-us-with-love-odger-recycled-wood-plastic-sustainable-chair/

The Fraggle Rock Collection Chocolate Bars • http://www.coolhunting.com/buy/mast-brothers-fraggle-rock

Seven of the best collectible designs at The Salon Art + Design New York 2017 • https://www.dezeen.com/2017/11/14/best-in-show-salon-art-design-fair-park-avenue-armory-new-york/

Industrial Design: Taptop Computer Concept • http://abduzeedo.com/industrial-design-taptop-computer-concept

This ‘Weirdly Awesome’ Clothing Line Mashes Up Fashion and Candy • http://www.adweek.com/brand-marketing/this-weirdly-awesome-clothing-line-mashes-up-fashion-and-candy/

Graphic Design/Identity

Coca-Cola x Adobe Collaboration by Vasjen Katro • http://abduzeedo.com/coca-cola-x-adobe-collaboration-vasjen-katro

New Logo and Identity for SM Entertainment • https://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_and_identity_for_sm_entertainment.php

Everyday Practice • http://www.grainedit.com/2017/11/15/everyday-practice/

New Logo and Identity for Annecy by Graphéine • https://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_and_identity_for_annecy_by_grapheine.php

Illustration

Giant Bear • https://www.behance.net/gallery/58785389/ZACHARIE-GIANT-BEAR

Watercolor Illustrations That Trace the Dark and Light Elements of Storybook Myths by Amber Ma • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/11/watercolor-illustrations-by-amber-ma

and that’s this weeks pull, give a clap for the effort (please)

--

--

--

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

Lightpaper & Discord

Preparing for epic digital event with Openlab

7 Mindsets and 4 Methods to Apply Design Thinking

Why Amazon Isn't Blooming in Singapore

How to design a better UX for government digital service

Final Semester Presentation Note on “The Musichronicle“ — Three Stories

Case Study: KRL ACCESS

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
John Freeborn

John Freeborn

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

More from Medium

Weekly Design Links — 03/01/22

Website Design for Museums With Eric Holter

An Elixir To Escaping The Visual Rut: 5 Grand Tips To Create An Effective Mood Board For UI UX…

a mood board showing sticky notes for elements

The Perfect Color is in the Context, not the Theory

Color is in the context. An experiment in color selection without the theory.