October 1st: Weekly Design Links

“You’d think a guy who has broken 35 bones in his body would have a high pain threshold, but mine is pretty low. I got hit in the shin with a golf ball once and it almost brought tears to my eyes. I’ve had broken bones that didn’t hurt as bad.” — Evel Knievel

I think I broke one of my ribs on Saturday. While skateboarding, I was caught off guard and fell awkwardly with my arm twisted into my rib cage. It was quick, it hurt and I got up and shook it off. I didn’t think anything was wrong. I kept skating. After a 30 minute drive, I started to feel the pain and realized that I’d done something. I’ve broken bones before, but it’s been a while. There’s not much you can do for a cracked rib. Six weeks of rest and healing, that’s about it. I guess I’ll have some solid computer time coming.

Graphic Design/Packaging/Branding

JOI Nutmilk • https://www.packagingoftheworld.com/2019/09/joi-nutmilk.html

Bonstingl branding by moodley brand identity • https://www.behance.net/gallery/86140225/Bonstingl-Branding

Because, colors are beautiful: Making an appealing and accessible palette for brands, products, and experiences • https://medium.com/carbondesign/because-colors-are-beautiful-52dd4cc39f09

Architecture

Dark Beacon Pavilion / Kieran Donnellan + MEDS (Meetings of Design Students) • https://www.archdaily.com/924936/dark-beacon-pavilion-kieran-donnellan-plus-meds-meetings-of-design-studies

House Hohlen by Jochen Specht • https://thisispaper.com/Jochen-Specht-House-Hohlen

The Camp / Fearon Hay Architects • https://www.archdaily.com/925512/the-camp-fearon-hay-architects

Art/Sculpture/Photography

Paper Artworks by DOTMOT • https://theinspirationgrid.com/paper-artworks-by-dotmot/

Quirky Juxtapositions Capture Imperfect Human Moments in Photographs by Shin Noguchi • https://www.thisiscolossal.com/2019/09/bizarre-moments-and-quirky-juxtapositions-captured-by-street-photographer-shin-noguchi

The Hidden French Tunnel Sculpture That Took 30 Years to Complete • https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/french-tunnel-sculpture

Work

Design Cencus 2019 • https://designcensus.org

The Death of Design Portfolios • https://modus.medium.com/the-death-of-design-portfolios-218bcbc11080

Web Design/UX/UI

The hidden bias in iterative product development • https://uxdesign.cc/the-hidden-bias-in-iterative-product-development-21e307a2c327

Time to kill the annoying popups • https://uxdesign.cc/time-to-kill-the-annoying-popups-c7430cf10c29

Typography

Cako typeface by Violaine & Jeremy • https://www.behance.net/gallery/84571727/Cako-typeface

These font football kits are perfect for type nerds • https://www.creativebloq.com/news/typekits

Introducing Decimal • https://www.typography.com/blog/introducing-decimal

Industrial Design

Granbyware — 100% Recycled Ceramic Dinnerware • https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/granbyworkshop/granbyware

Field Notes: Autumn Trilogy • https://fieldnotesbrand.com/products/autumn-trilogy

Random

Cameron’s World is a web-collage of text and images excavated from the buried neighbourhoods of archived GeoCities pages (1994–2009) • https://www.cameronsworld.net/

Stationery Compositions • https://stationery-compositions.tumblr.com

nothing more to see here

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store