Creative Links hero image

October 22nd: Weekly Design Links

“It is both humiliating and humbling to discover that a single generation after the events that constructed me as a public personality, I am remembered as a hairdo.” Angela Davis

This week is a larger than average post and I didn’t even get though all of my sources. Some weeks, time doesn’t allow it. Enjoy the visuals and read some words–maybe learn a thing or two.

Random

I Worked at Capital One for Five Years. This Is How We Justified Piling Debt on Poor Customers • https://newrepublic.com/article/155212/worked-capital-one-five-years-justified-piling-debt-poor-customers

The Creative Entrepreneur Behind Paper Chase Press on Doubling Down on Risks and Reinventing Print for a Digital-First Generation • https://99u.adobe.com/articles/64700/creative-entrepreneurship-reinventing-print-digital-first-generation-paper-chase-press

Meet Analogue Pocket™ • https://www.analogue.co/pocket/

Public Type Works enables the creation of new open source fonts • https://www.publictype.works/

Architecture

Wood Slat Shotgun House / Austigard Arkitektur • https://www.archdaily.com/926276/wood-slat-shotgun-house-austigard-arkitektur

House XI / Nacho Carbó arquitecto • https://www.archdaily.com/926590/house-xi-nacho-carbo-arquitecto

The Minimalist Opera Tuderte Residence in Todi, Italy • https://design-milk.com/the-minimalist-opera-tuderte-residence-in-todi-italy

Hongling Experimental Primary School / O-office Architects • https://www.archdaily.com/926560/hongling-experimental-primary-school-o-office-architects

Web Design/UX/UI

Using Jira for Design Systems • https://medium.com/eightshapes-llc/using-jira-for-design-systems-10ec31c3327e

Flash Is Responsible for the Internet’s Most Creative Era • https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/d3awk7/flash-is-responsible-for-the-internets-most-creative-era

It’s time we stop unsolicitedly redesigning Spotify • https://uxdesign.cc/its-time-we-stop-unsolicitedly-redesigning-spotify-8afe1f8b5a6d

Designing accessible color systems • https://stripe.com/blog/accessible-color-systems

Work

The 5 mistakes you’re likely making in your one-on-one meetings with direct reports • https://m.signalvnoise.com/the-5-mistakes-youre-likely-making-in-your-one-on-one-meetings-with-direct-reports/

7 Traits of A Leader Worth Following • https://medium.com/personal-growth/7-traits-of-a-leader-worth-following-4bba018c1a80

When should you choose a UX specialty? • https://www.invisionapp.com/inside-design/when-should-you-choose-a-ux-specialty

Graphic Design/Branding

Barcelona Jewish Film Festival 2019 by Familia :) • https://www.behance.net/gallery/86670253/Barcelona-Jewish-Film-Festival-2019

Corona Playing Cards • https://www.packagingoftheworld.com/2019/10/corona-playing-cards.html

Art

Moldy Fruit Sculptures Formed From Precious Gemstones Challenge Perceptions of Decoration and Decay • https://www.thisiscolossal.com/2019/10/kathleen-ryan-moldy-fruit

She liked the sea by Christian Schmidt • https://www.behance.net/gallery/87016643/She-liked-the-sea

100,000 Hand-Arranged Stamps Form Complex Mosaics by Elisabetta Di Maggio • https://www.thisiscolossal.com/2019/10/greetings-from-venice

A Fog of Color: The Sculpture of Aleksandar Duravcevic • https://design-milk.com/a-fog-of-color-the-sculpture-of-aleksandar-duravcevic

Industrial Design

An Investigation of “Possibilities” at Amman Design Week 2019 • https://design-milk.com/an-investigation-of-possibilities-at-amman-design-week-2019

Lex by Astride is a wearable chair that allows its user to sit anywhere • https://www.dezeen.com/2019/10/17/lex-astride-bionix-wearable-exoskeleton-chair/

Motion/3D

Malibu Boats: The M240 by Already Been Chewed • https://www.behance.net/gallery/86794361/Malibu-Boats-The-M240

end-of-the-line
Noun
(plural ends of the lines)

  1. The termination point of a railway or similar transportation system.
  2. (idiomatic) Final cessation or discontinuance of a process, institution, or person, especially one which has existed for a considerable period of time; death.

--

--

--

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

“Pull-to-Return” — A New App Microinteraction to Consider

Why Design is Crucial for Early Stage Startups

San Diego Startup month. October 1–29, 2021. #SDSM2021 showing Kristie Kaiser’s image on top of a blue background with an astronaut.

SLAY Magazine

Airbnb — Entertain Mobile App Feature Integration

Prework Ironhack: Design Thinking_Challenge1

Big-Picture BIM Modeling: Applications in Contractor Construction

Be the Hare and the Tortoise

Deep Dive: Psychographic and Behavioral Profiles of Nigeria’s Financial Services Users

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
John Freeborn

John Freeborn

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

More from Medium

Top 5 Prototyping Tools for UX Designers

Design digest #12: war-life balance

How to Balance Business Goals & User Needs: Connecting the Dot

Designers from Ukraine