October 24th: Weekly Design Links

“Americans have been conditioned to respect newness, whatever it costs them.” – John Updike

I spent most of last week at the AdobeMax conference in Las Vegas. Everyone seems to have strong feelings about Sin City. I enjoyed my time there, surrounded by 12,000 creative people–it was nice to be amongst so many talented and energetic people. I’m still digesting everything I saw and heard but I can say with assurance that Adobe puts on a great show. Next year’s AdobeMax is in LA and I’ll be trying to find a way to be there. On to this week’s design links…

Product/Industrial Design

Patcraft’s Deconstructed Metal Carpet Tile Collection • http://design-milk.com/patcrafts-deconstructed-metal-carpet-tile-collection

SPACE10 open sources The Growroom • https://space10.io/journal/space10-open-sources-the-growroom

IKEA Releases the YPPERLIG Collection from HAY • http://design-milk.com/ikea-releases-the-ypperlig-collection-from-hay

This Resin and Fiberglass Table by Harow Replicates the Surface of the Moon • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/10/moon-table

Graphic Design/Packaging/3D

This Scottish Gin Captures The Spirit of the Sea In a Beautiful Way • http://www.thedieline.com/blog/2017/9/13/barra-atlantic-gin

36 Days by Vinicius Araújo • http://abduzeedo.com/36-days-vinicius-araujo

Gran Cruz chocolate packaging by SHIFT • http://retaildesignblog.net/2017/10/23/gran-cruz-chocolate-packaging-by-shift/

New Logo and Identity for Helseutvalget by Bielke&Yang • https://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_and_identity_for_helseutvalget_by_bielkeyang.php

Work

What do You Want To See In My UX Design Portfolio? • https://uxplanet.org/what-do-you-want-to-see-in-my-ux-design-portfolio-fc98dc48c01

7 Things We’re Still Chewing on After the Eye on Design Conference • https://eyeondesign.aiga.org/7-things-were-still-chewing-on-after-the-eye-on-design-conference

A Quick Guide to Everything You Missed at the Adobe MAX Keynote • https://www.webdesignerdepot.com/2017/10/a-quick-guide-to-everything-you-missed-at-the-adobe-max-keynote/

Illustration

Keith Negley • http://www.grainedit.com/2017/10/11/keith-negley/

New Paper Textured Editorial Illustrations by Eiko Ojala • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/10/new-paper-textured-editorial-illustrations-by-eiko-ojala

Sébastien Plassard • http://www.grainedit.com/2017/10/18/sebastien-plassard/

How I became an Illustrator by discovering a new • https://design.zeta.in/how-i-became-an-illustrator-by-discovering-a-new-dimension-1dbc99bba7a5

Art/Sculpture

Origami Inception: Paper Artist Folds Four Works From a Single Sheet of Paper • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/10/origami-inception-paper-artist-folds-four-works-from-a-single-sheet-of-paper

This Brick Arch Installation Dissolves in the Rain to Leave a Mortar Skeleton • https://www.archdaily.com/880691/this-brick-arch-installation-dissolves-in-the-rain-to-leave-a-mortar-skeleton

Invader Creates Special New Works in Hong Kong Atop the Covers of His “New Mosaics of Ravenna” Book • https://www.juxtapoz.com/news/street-art/invader-creates-special-new-works-in-hong-kong-atop-the-covers-of-his-new-mosaics-of-ravenna-book/

Web Design/UX/UI

Redesigning Adobe’s File Type Icon System Language • https://medium.com/@annydesign/redesigning-adobes-file-type-icon-system-language-6efa4aed1b30

“How Do I…” Design System Practice Cards • https://medium.com/eightshapes-llc/how-do-i-practice-cards-activity-60d6ffe42be3

Hey, can you ‘do the UX’ for us? • https://uxdesign.cc/hey-can-you-do-the-ux-for-us-432a38eac295

Architecture

Snøhetta Unveils Designs for Europe’s First Underwater Restaurant • https://www.archdaily.com/882130/snohetta-unveils-designs-for-europes-first-underwater-restaurant

MVRDV presents a hotel you can reconfigure at Dutch Design Week • https://www.dezeen.com/2017/10/23/mvrdv-wego-house-reconfigure-dutch-design-week-2017-why-factory/

Photography

Everyday Scenes Imbued With Surreal Mystery by Photographer Brooke Didonato • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/10/everyday-scenes-imbued-with-surreal-mystery-by-photographer-brooke-didonato

That’s what I have for this week, give me a clap if this made you smile.

--

--

--

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

Knowing Yourself and Your Competition

Design & Critical Thinking’s Virtual End Of Year Party 🎉

The one rule to product design & product changes- Always keep your customer in mind

An Introduction to Accessibility | Difrent

Text: Talking Accessibility Image: Mark Wright sitting in front of a laptop

For those who don’t know, What’s UX and UI design?

Chalk Radio — Episode 4, “Social Impact at Scale, One Project at a Time with Dr. Anjali Sastry”

Redesigning a Cultural Heritage website

A high fidelity mockup of an events page.

Using Media Queries To Best Effect For Responsive Design — Apptunix

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
John Freeborn

John Freeborn

designer, artist, skateboarder and video gamer

More from Medium

Weekly Design Links — 03/08/22

An Elixir To Escaping The Visual Rut: 5 Grand Tips To Create An Effective Mood Board For UI UX…

a mood board showing sticky notes for elements

Website Design for Museums With Eric Holter

Case Study: Public Outreach Logo & Branding