October 29th: Weekly Design Links

“All skateboarding is, is putting ideas into action.”Marc Johnson

I’ve got a nice tight group of links this week. No filler. I might take next week off–well see. No promises.

Architecture

Fengdong E Pang Bookstore by Gonverge Interior Design • https://retaildesignblog.net/2019/10/21/fengdong-e-pang-bookstore-by-gonverge-interior-design/

Stefano Boeri unveils Smart Forest City covered in 7.5 million plants for Mexico • https://www.dezeen.com/2019/10/25/smart-forest-city-stefano-boeri-cancun-mexico/

Junya Ishigami’s Japanese water garden wins €100,000 Obel Award • https://www.dezeen.com/2019/10/24/junya-ishigami-art-biotop-water-garden-obel-award/

The Livery Shop / Modern Office of Design + Architecture • https://www.archdaily.com/926990/the-livery-shop-modern-office-of-design-plus-architecture

Random/Work

How many outs? Baseball playoff graphics compared • https://sixcolors.com/post/2019/10/how-many-outs-baseball-playoff-graphics-compared/

8 critical skills of effective design leaders • https://www.abstract.com/blog/design-leadership-skills

How to transition to a design leader • https://www.invisionapp.com/inside-design/transition-to-design-leader

Industrial Design

This radical phone has skin that feels your pinch • https://www.fastcompany.com/90419364/this-radical-phone-has-skin-that-feels-your-pinch

Lexus designs LF-30 Electrified concept to develop “mutual understanding” between car and driver • https://www.dezeen.com/2019/10/23/lexus-lf-30-electric-concept-car/

The Tycho Puzzle • https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/craighill/the-tycho-puzzle

Web Design/UX/UI

The next step: Design Systems beyond UI • https://medium.com/angi-studio/the-next-step-design-systems-beyond-ui-e7a1146563ed

The Hot Potato Process • http://danmall.me/articles/hot-potato-process/

We’re not designing for screens • https://tannerchristensen.com/blog/2019/10/15/were-not-designing-for-screens

Design Matters 2019: Talks • https://designmatters.io/articles/?category=talk

Photography

Forest Rage by Al Mefer • https://www.behance.net/gallery/86800493/Forest-Rage

Nikon Small World 2019: The Best Microscope Photos Of The Year • https://designyoutrust.com/2019/10/nikon-small-world-2019-the-best-microscope-photos-of-the-year/

Graphic Design/Branding

New Logo and Identity for Event Cinemas by Landor • https://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_logo_and_identity_for_event_cinemas_by_landor.php

New Emblem for 2024 Summer Olympics by Royalties Ecobranding • https://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/new_emblem_for_2024_summer_olympics.php

Illustration

All 435 Illustrations from John J Audubon’s ‘Birds of America’ Are Available for Free Download • https://www.thisiscolossal.com/2019/10/birds-of-america-download

Astrology skateboard collection by Louis Letters • https://www.behance.net/gallery/86507491/Astrology-skateboard-collection

done-zo

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store